About Us


The club dates from about the early 1980s and has operated out of various locations.

The founding members were Graeme & Lorraine McVitty, David Percy and in particular, our Life Members Rob and Helen Fairweather. These pioneers started and ran an archery club through some pretty tough times and strong opposition to the idea of having an archery club in Strathalbyn.

The club has had several names over the years including the Strathalbyn District Archers and was originally affiliated with the Australian Bowhunters Association. Today we are officially Strathalbyn Target Archers Incorporated trading as Great Southern Archers, and are affiliated with Archery South Australia and Archery Australia.

The late Ros Johns was probably the club’s first coach. She lived at Milang in the late 1980's.

Another influential woman was Life Members Margaret Jenkins (formerly Kuchel). Margaret ran a very successful Australian Junior Archery Development (AJAD) program for many years.

GSA is recognised on the International front. We were given the recognition of being the best set up National Field event for not only competing junior archers, but for spectators to “actually watch” the event take place from 17 different vantage points around the 2 day course in 2002.

Member's Achievements

Club members have included many national and international award winners.

Simon Fairweather - gold in the World Target Championships in 1991 and the Sydney Olympics in 2000.

Andrew Kuchel - 1996 World Junior Target Championships in San Deigo, USA, finishing 3rd in the individual event and taking team Gold with two fellow Australians. Andrew also took Gold and set five records at the Trans Tasman Cup event in New Zealand in the same year. After a break from the sport Andrew returned in 2016 and represented Australia at World Archery Cup in 2018 at Shanghai.

Kate Fairweather, Michael Ware and Megan Kuchel. All Gold medalists on the International front - all from "Strathalbyn Target Archers".

There are other Australian National Champions such as Angus Barrie, Simon Tucker, Helen Hann, Candeece Falland, Rupert Lindon, Krystal Hicks, Alistair Falland, Lucas Weeks, Aaron Groffen, Angus Dinnison, Dan Colville, Luke Haeusler, John Vogelsang and Graham Kuchel.

Former club President Pat Coghlan was rated as World No. 3 and was captain of the Australian Compound Archery Team in 2008.

Sherry Gale has represented Australia on many occasions.

Aaron Grubel was an Australian Junior Team representative at the World Indoor Archery Championships in 2007.

Michael Felix was a Team Gold Medalist in India at the Commonwealth Cup.

Tristan Barrett competed in numerous Junior National Archery Championships.

Former club President John Clark is Secretary General of the World Crossbow Shooting Association and has competed in numerous World Crossbow Championships and was a Senior Gold Medalist in the Individual Target Match Play in 2011.